Press: New Film for Sam: ‘My Oxford Year’ (we hope!)

‘My Oxford Year’ Is Being Made Into A Romance With Melissa Benoist & Sam Heughan, And You Can Start Reading It Now

Stock up on school supplies, pack your suitcases, and make sure to bring plenty of tissues with you, because this April, readers are going on a heart-thumping romantic adventure across the pond in Julia Whelan’s debut novel, My Oxford Year. The first book from the Once and Again actress, screenwriter, and award-winning audiobook narrator-turned-author is sure to be on everyone’s summer reading list next year, but luckily you don’t have to wait until then to read it. Bustle is thrilled to not only have details about My Oxford Year, but an exclusive look at the first chapter of this breathtaking book, out April 2018 from William Morrow Paperbacks.

Ella Durran’s life is going exactly according to her perfectly crafted plan: after years of hard work and determination, she has finally made it to Oxford on a Rhodes scholarship at age 24. She has even secured a prestigious job working on a promising politician’s presidential campaign when she returns to America after a year abroad, and her future has never looked brighter. On her first day of classes at her dream school, Ella knows everything in her life is right on track — that is, until she meets Jamie Davenport, a gorgeous local man and her literature professor who just might be the curveball Ella never expected to face. Their awkward first encounter aside, Ella and Jamie are quick to form a strong bond when late-night drinks and an unexpected revelation turn their fling into the start of a serious relationship. As their love deepens and secrets are revealed, Ella must choose between the life and career she’s always dreamed of in America or a future in Oxford with a true love she could have only ever imagined.

Sweet and tender, My Oxford Year is a heartbreaking coming-of-age romance that will move readers to tears. Perfect for fans of JoJo Moyes and Nicholas Sparks, Whelan’s debut is poised to be a hit with fans of women’s fiction, romance, and literary fiction alike. “In fact, the story is so enticing that in 2015 it was announced that the book is in the works to be a movie starring everyone’s favorite Highlander Sam Heughan alongside Melissa Benoist of Glee and Supergirl fame. Fast forward two years to now and with the movie details still in flux (as per the Hollywood norm) the Heughan and Benoist duo is no longer exclusively attached, however I’m keeping *my* fingers crossed that when My Oxford Year hits the big screen, it’ll be with these two stars attached!

Although you will have to wait until April 24 to get your hands on a copy of the book, and even longer until you can see the story come to life on the big screen, Bustle is thrilled to present the first chapter of My Oxford Year just for our readers. Read below and get ready to fall in love.
Source

Fingers crossed he firmly attaches to this project.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *